Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Today was pretty exciting, I got to spectate the London Virgin Money Marathon right at Buckingham Palace! I had a good spot with a great view of the finish line when it wasn’t obscured by a few heads and shoulders, a good crowd and company as well. I got there at about a quarter past 9am with Hanna and scoped out a spot. Ended up being next to a BBC camera too that had a great spot at the corner to film the athletes all the way into the finish line.We watched the entirety of the under 13, 15 and 17’s races before the elite women’s and men’s races got started. We also got to watch the wheelchair races too along with the Paralympic athletes and visually impaired. It was pretty exciting to see the elites finish though, being able to watch them at certain points along the course in the build up to the finish was pretty awesome. The reigning women’s champ for the elite race did not reclaim her title unfortunately, it was Jemima Sumgong who won followed up closely by last year’s winner Tigist Tufa. The “thriller” moment of the race was when Sumgong fell possibly tripped up by another runner who also fell and she still had the tenacity to come back strong and win the race. I also got to cheer on Sara Hall the one USA runner in the elite race which was nice. As it so happened, Tatyana Mcfadden reclaimed the title of wheelchair winner again this year, a great showing for USA as it were!

 
 The men’s race fortunately didn’t have any falls and was just as close as the women’s race at the end. Kipchoge reclaimed the title for the second year in a row by a narrow margin taking the lead about the 25 mile mark or so. He had been running shoulder to shoulder with Stanley Biwott who came in second. Unfortunately Kipchoge didn’t quite beat the world record for the men’s marathon, he was just within ten seconds though with a time of  2:03.05.  The crowd by that point was massive around the finish line, it wasn’t nearly as big for the mini marathon races (a three mile race for the Under 17, 17 and 13’s).Since I had homework to do I left after the elite men’s race ended to go back to my room and work on my assignments. On my way back I took a different exit that I usually take from the station and ended up walking past some cute dogs that I just couldn’t pass up, I of course had to pet them so I was quite happy to have taken that exit! Overall a great day full of excitement and almost broken world records! Until tomorrow!

