Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The day started out lazily as I woke up around 10am to get moving by 11 after waking up getting dressed and the likes. Our mission for this morning was to get some Beigel Bake on Brick Lane. We took the 205 to Shoreditch High Street for a .2mile walk down to Brick Lane, passing might I add the Dum Dum Donutterie–such good doughnuts, they’re heavenly really. Upon arriving we realized since it was a Sunday the street market was going on which was pretty cool so instead of just getting the bagels and hightailing it for home we got our breakfast and meandered on through the market.

 Since I hadn’t had their signature bagel yet I decided that it was imperative my grandmother and I each get the Hot Salt Beef bagel sandwich with mustard. It was wise to order the mustard, it really brought the flavor up a few notches and perhaps a few sniffles to my nose it was that pungently-strong. We wandered pas many a food stall along our traipse through the market which luckily weren’t as tempting since we’d just gotten some hearty breakfast. What did however catch my eye or rather my palate was a stall selling fruit juice. I got the special for the day; a Tropical mix consisting of strawberry, apple, pear, pineapple, mango, banana, grapes, papaya, watermelon, honeydew,kiwifruit, and orange. It was good although I may have been happier with a plain kiwi or perhaps the mango one, I love me some plain kiwi and mangoes!

 Next I found the perfect little souvenir/ present for a friend of mine just by pure happenstance as I decided to backtrack instead of going in the same direction to take a particular street. From there we made our way to the Dum Dum Donutterie for some doughnuts. We got six mixed doughnuts; two creme brule, one apple pie, one cro-nutella, one yum yum (I think that’s what it was called anyway?) and one zebra. Once we got back to the room I had my creme brule doughnut shortly after getting back, it was just calling to me so I had to. After my sugar rush I went to work reading my assigned reading for class and finishing up my homework. Unfortunately I didn’t have time for a much needed nap but I did finish my homework all but one question anyway.

Street art that I’ve probably already posted but enjoyed so much I thought I’d post again


 We left for the Royal Academy shortly after 3pm to go see the Monet to Matisse exhibition. Since I hadn’t heard about it in time we had to uh, well pay a little more just to be able to see it, and that consisted of becoming a friend of the museum. Luckily for me becoming a young friend was the cheapest option at only 50 pounds by card. This granted myself and a guest access to the current exhibition which had sold out its regular tickets. It was worth it by far! I have recently become enamored with Monet, Matisse, Renoir and the likes. I love the water lily paintings by Monet especially and there were a number of those and the bridge ones! On the short walk to the gallery itself we saw a lovely neon green lambo, and a purple Rolls Royce, I thought it was an interesting combination to see in such a short time period. Especially so since the RR seemed to be from out of the country as it had what looked to be Arabic potentially off to the left side of the place.

  
 Out of the paintings that I saw I wrote down the ones that I especially liked perhaps slightly more than the rest. I’ll be posting that as tomorrow’s blog since this one is rather long as is.

After the Monet to Matisse exhibit my grandmother and I went walking down the street just looking around until we came across a restaurant that looked good. I’d seen the Wasabi places before but never stopped in. We ordered one bowl of spicy chicken and noodles to split–we didn’t finish it, in fact I still have about half of it for breakfast tomorrow! After making our way back to the room we split the yum yum doughnut and that was our evening. Until tomorrow, stay tuned for my obnoxiously long list of paintings!

  

