Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Today we started out walking to the furthest away thing which was the Promenade Plantée. It would be the perfect place to run, no cars, no bikes and it’s full of plants & greenery! It took us about 30/40 minutes to walk there but it was a good walk. We saw much more of the city than we would had we taken the metro everywhere. I also got to pet some dogs along the way which is always a bonus in my book! From the Promenade we walked to the Louvre!

Promenade Plantee from street level


 The line for the Louvre was a bit long but not unbearable. It was a little chilly out and we didn’t have snacks with us but we made it! Probably took us about two and a half hours to get in but it was all worth it; our student visas got us in for free! As described by our classmates we just walked in to the gallery entrance to show them our visas and got in no problem! Guess we could have probably gone in the other shorter line too.. Oh well.

  

View of the pyramid from inside the Louvre 


The Louvre was overwhelmingly huge! I hadn’t any idea how huge it was until we got inside and it was massive! We only went into one gallery (obviously the one with the Mona Lisa) and still spent not enough time, sadly. The Mona Lisa was bigger than I thought it would be, as people had said it was tiny. The variety of paintings there reminded me of the National Gallery back in London which was rather nice. I really enjoyed the variety, especially how there were more than paintings. We managed to wander into an Islamic Art gallery at the end of our time in the museum so of course I had to take a little time and check it out. My favorite statues were Egyptian gods/ goddesses, Isis and Osiris as well as Athena in another section.

Awesome courtyard from Louvre window 

  

Just an example of the ornate building itself

      

Mona from afar

I don’t think I could chose just one painting that I liked the most but I did find a painting of a dwarf that looks suspiciously like “Tyrion” from Game of Thrones! Another one that I enjoyed was a wreath. Wrapping up the Louvre we went in search of the Arc de Triomphe! Lunch was pretty chill at the Louvre, I got a baguette sandwich and a muffin, it was yummy as one would expect!

All of our exploration this far minus getting to Paris from the airport had been walking, so we’ve walked a fair amount! The Triomphe was pretty awesome we were typical tourists there as one might expect & took a number of pictures there. And then we wandered to find the Eiffel Tower. We managed to stumble upon the Modern Art Gallery on the way to the Tower which is on our agenda for tomorrow. The tower itself was somewhat smaller than I was anticipating although it wasn’t any less impressive by any means! Again, we did the touristy thing and took some photos which I’ll add later sometime if they won’t upload tonight! We happened to pass Laduree on the way to the Arch so of course we had to stop there before the tower! The everything there was delicious!! I got two macaroons and a chocolate croissant! I bought a tea flavored macaroon and a green apple one.

Arc de Triomphe

  
  
After the tower in daylight we went off to get dinner and wait for nightfall before going back. We went to Le George V Alma for dinner and had some really good food! I ordered a warm goat cheese salad and it was amazing! Jayden got a Caesar salad and Devon got a ham and cheese omelet. We were probably there for at least two hours just eating slowly and talking and enjoying the ambiance of the restaurant itself. Devon and Jayden both also ordered creme brûlée for desert and I got a bite but was too full to have ordered my own: it was delicious in case you were wondering.

  
After dinner we went back to the Eiffel Tower for our nighttime photo ops and that concluded our evening excursions. We then took the metro for the first time today and walked the 15 minutes back to our hostel. Until tomorrow!


  

