Tags

, , , ,

It’s already week 10 of my time abroad as you may have gathered. I’m still in awe that I’ve been in another country for 10 weeks now, it still feels as if I’ve just barely gotten here! As it is I’m in the process of booking my second break and I couldn’t be more stoked! I’m officially going to Iceland and I hope that I’ll have the chance to see the northern lights! I’ve been wanting to go for a few years and now that I’ve got the chance I’m taking full advantage of it! I’ve also a tentative plan to go to Auschwitz which has been on my list for a while as I find it important to learn about the Holocaust and to remind ourselves that it really wasn’t that long ago.

London has been so many things so far, excitement, expensive, new, familiar. This past weekend upon getting off the train at Kings Cross myself and a few others remarked how we felt at home and were ready to be back in London. If I haven’t already mentioned it, if you’ve got the chance to study in another country or even just to travel in another country by all means; take it. I’m loving every minute of it so far!

I’m especially looking forward to Prague as I’ve got family history there although I don’t know as much as I would like to! I’ve been wanting to go to Prague for a number of years as well and I’m so excited to be there and to share the experience with my grandma who will be traveling with me!

As an almost recap of Belfast we discussed our emotional reactions to the trip. Particularly the peace walls and how yes we had been debriefed about what to expect that seeing them had a profound effect on us. Moments like these are what make me the most thankful for my program in particular. I am able to experience another city in a way that’s more than just touristy and on a surface level, we’re prompted to think about the places we are and the history and political climate even. I wouldn’t have found Madden’s Bar on my own, it was awesome that people talked to us and were friendly. The next night we went to Kelly’s Cellar which was an entirely different crowd, not a bad one by any means but we didn’t make conversation with any potential locals.

Tomorrow in class I’ve got a debate on one of two topics where I’ll be assigned one side or another and I’m rather looking forward to it! Until then!

